State: AL, AK, AZ, AR, CA, CO, CT, DE, DC, FL, GA, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NH, NJ, NM, NY, NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY, PR
Resource Intensity: High
Co-founding: Yes
Cost Share: 25%
Sector: Adaptation / Resilience
Support Stage: Implementation, Planning
Support to: Local Governments, State Governments, Tribes
Type of Funding: Grant

This program is administered by the DHS. Grant funding for applicants to undertake projects that minimize repetitive flood damage to buildings and structures under NFIP. Projects are prioritized by their efforts to combat repetitive damage with Severe Repetitive Loss (SRL) structures where payouts exceed the market value of the structure, Repetitive Loss (RL), and SRL structures with cumulative requirements. Available funding is up to $4 million for project scoping, $70 million for community flood mitigation projects, and $86 million for technical assistance (TA), flood hazard mitigation planning and individual flood mitigation projects. Project scoping applicants are capped at $600,000 federal cost share, and $30 million for community flood mitigation projects per sub applicant, and $50,000 for TA where in FY2019 FEMA obligated a FMA award of at least $1 million in federal share, and $100,000 per applicant for flood hazard mitigation (mx of 50,000 for State applicants and $25,000 for local flood hazard mitigation planning). Applications are due in January 2021.